Add & Edit Users

How to add, edit, and deactivate users and how to access user-specific activity logs.

Each subscription-plan level includes a set number of users that can have unique logins for the account. Each individual using ShipStation must have their own login, as you cannot log in with the same username in multiple locations simultaneously. Customize the permissions and restrictions of your account users to control what information they can view and what actions they can perform.

Subscription Level

Number of Users

Starter and Bronze

1

Silver

2

Gold

3

Platinum

5

Enterprise

10

Want to add more users to your account than the maximum number of users available on your plan level, but don’t need to increase your shipment limit? Increase the number of users allowed on your account for $5/user.

These additional users must be added to the Subscription before you can add the user account in the User Management screen. See the Change Subscription Plan page for more information.

During your ShipStation free trial, you can add up to 10 users to your account. If additional users are needed, please contact our support team.

Access User Management Settings

Add a New User

The user will then receive an email to the email address set in the Information tab. That email contains their username and a temporary password.

Upon login, the user will be prompted to change their temporary password to a permanent password.

Add_New_User_Set_Up_Password_PU.png

Going forward, users can change their password by using the Forgot Password link on the login screen.

Increase Subscription User Count

If you have reached your maximum number of users on your plan, go to Settings > Account > Subscription and click Change Your Subscription to increase your user limit. Then enter the total number of additional users you'd like to add to your account.

Each additional user above your plan limit is $5/month.

Subscription page. Lists current plan details. Red box highlights Change Your Subscription button.

Edit a User

You can change the password, Full Name, Email Address, and Permissions for a user you have already created, but you cannot edit the Username.

Edit a User for Starter and Bronze Plan

Please read the section Make Users Inactive to learn how to make a user inactive and why users are not deleted.

Make a User Account Inactive 

ShipStation users generate historical, reference information, and they create and modify data. Deleting users entirely would also delete this reference information.

To maintain the integrity of the historical information generated in the account, instead of deleting users, you can make them inactive. Inactive users can't log in, nor do they count against your plan's subscription limits.

An inactive user loses all ability to do anything within that ShipStation account. An inactive user has no way to log in, access, nor be reactivated within that ShipStation account unless an account's admin user reactivates their username.

Deactivate or Reactivate a User

Tip

To see inactive users, check the Show Inactive Users box on the User Management screen. They will be listed as Inactive under the Status column.

User Management popup. Red box highlights checked box to Show Inactive Users

User Activity Log

The User Activity Log provides basic activity information about your ShipStation users. Monitor an individual's login dates/times, notifications, retrievals, manual orders, time stamps for start/finish of Get Label calls, and other high-level activities are tracked here. This tool can help with forensic purposes in trouble-shooting or identifying personnel who need new training. 

Check the Order Details log for more granular details about information a user created, changed, or did. For example, Oder Details is where to look for specifics if ShipStation automatically updates an address or if a user changed. To learn more details, read our Shipment Activity article.

Note

ShipStation stores data in the User Activity log for 60 days only.

Access the User Activity Log